Why And How I Chose Software Development As My Tech Career Path.

·

4 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

20220829_124326_0000.png

Software development is the process of conceiving, specifying, designing, programming, documenting, testing, and deploying software to solve problems. It is the process programmers use to build computer programs. This process referred to as Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC), includes several phases that provide a method for building products that meet technical specifications and user requirements. The phases of SDLC include planning, analysis, design, development, testing, implementation, and maintenance.

SDLC_BWC.png Software Development Lifecycle.

“Take the attitude of a student, never be too big to ask questions, and never know too much to learn something new.” —Augustine Og Mandino

My name is Udeme Eko, a frontend software developer at Tiidelab and I will be sharing my reasons for choosing this wonderful career.

IMG-20220625-WA0019.jpg My journey to self-reliance in software development.

In life, certain things drive our passion to do something, one of which is something many people do not love identifying with, FAILURE! Initially, I wanted to be a medical doctor; in 2010, I wrote an entrance test into the university and failed. This particular reason gave birth to my tech career path. I spent the next year reevaluating myself; passion, motivation, and determination. I choose the Federal University of Technology, Owerri the next year and got admitted to study Information Management Technology. During our orientation, I learnt about so many career options in tech: network and systems, software development, cyber security, big data, and cloud computing. As a student of Information Technology, I was exposed to new technologies and software development was part of it. My passion for software development grew in 2017 when I went for a 6-month Internship at Oasis Management Company, a software development company that focuses on software development, management consulting, hosting and domain registration, e-payment integration, portal and web services, fiber, and networks. The first thing I observed in this company was the employees’ ‘soft life’. They behaved as if nothing bothered them; everyone was on a very casual outlook with just a pair of jean trousers and a t-shirt. They looked so fresh and healthy with glass protecting them from the screen. During working hours, everywhere was as silent as a graveyard with each person so focused on his/her screen. During lunch hours, the focused developers were so playful as if they have no task with deadlines ahead of them. I fell in love with the company and its employees and started seeing myself like them; I forgot to mention that after work I was the only person that was not mobile, they all owned good and clean cars, it was there and then I began to read about how much software developers are paid just to appease my curiosity on their high standard of living. As time went on, my desire to be like them increased and I sought advice from Mr. Nkemjika who later became my mentor. He sat me down and told me everything I needed to know about becoming a software developer like him.

20171116_153807.jpg My first day at Oasis Management company (2017).

This brought me to being a regular visitor to W3schools.com. There was never a day without visiting this e-learning website and getting better with HTML and CSS. Just because you are struggling, that doesn't mean you're not learning. Every failure has something to teach you, and everything you learn helps you grow. If you are unwilling to learn, no one can help you; if you are determined to learn, no one can stop you. For the past 5 years, my learning process can be described as a sinusoidal wave, I study so hard and suddenly pause whenever it tries to give me a migraine and then get back on track.

SAVE_20210830_14548.jpg My portfolio website designed by me.

Whenever I remember how financially independent I will be once I become a successful software developer, the passion to learn triggers and I start building little projects to sharpen my coding skills, and today, I am proud of the process. Though I have not reached the apex of my aspiration in software development I am on my way to achieving all that I have set my mind to be and in little or no time, that will come to manifestation.

Finally, I will conclude by saying that my journey to becoming a software developer was triggered by FAILURE and the zeal to be FINANCIALLY INDEPENDENT.

For more insight on my career journey please kindly follow my social media handles Twitter: twitter.com/Yuu_deey?t=ShM-UAtCcuE0py1QC2RX..

Linkedln: linkedin.com/in/udeme-eko

Facebook: facebook.com/udeme.eko